Meeting Gippsland’s new Community Engagement Network

This week, West Gippsland Catchment Management Authority’s new Community Engagement Network (CEN) met for the first time.

West Gippsland Catchment Management Authority (WGCMA) CEO, Martin Fuller, said there were more than 40 applicants for the Network.

“We were very happy with the number of applicants we received,” said Mr Fuller. “It shows that the Gippsland community is engaged and interest in improving the health of our natural environment and resources.

“Our board selected 26 individuals to sit on the Network. Our CEN plays an important role in bringing community issues to the organisation, as well as providing information about what we’re working on back to their communities.

“Our natural environment is diverse and the people who use it and enjoy it come from all different backgrounds and industries. Our CEN reflects this diversity and includes bushwalkers, farmers, fishers, teachers, engineers, people who love camping, photographers, artists and more.”

The next CEN Network will be held in September and will be held at Heart Morass.

“The next meeting will highlight how working in partnership can achieve amazing results that one organisation singly would never have been able to achieve,” continued Mr Fuller.

“We’ll also be discussing water for the environment. Water for the environment is a topic that we know people want to know more about. We’ll work with our CEN to help communicate this with others.”

Community Engagement Network members are Anna Larkin, Briagolong; Barry Rogers, Warragul; David McAninly, Staceys Bridge; David Sutton, Inverloch; David Meikle, Meeniyan; Diedre Griepsma, Inverloch; Evan De Gooyer, Korumburra; Geoff Gooch, Wurruk; Gerard Condon, Bushy Park; Greg Rose, Stratford; Ian Code, Leongatha; James Stranger, Traralgon; Jim Forsyth, Stratford; Jo Caminiti, Cowwarr; Joey Boothby, Inverloch; Liz Fleming, Traralgon; Madeline Watts, Eagle Point; Max Fletcher, Pakenham; Michael Hobson, Port Albert; Natalie Goodfellow, Stony Creek; Natasha Marty-Cripps, Leongatha; Nicole Creaser, Korumburra; Peter Warner Wurruk; Rhonda Hastie, Moe South; Tony Pitt, Nilma North and Trevor Colvin, Yarram.