West Gippsland CMA welcomes three new board members

West Gippsland Catchment Management Authority (CMA) Chair, Peter Jennings OAM, recently welcomed three new members to its independent, skills-based board.

Water Minister Lisa Neville appointed Nick Murray, Liz Clay and Shelley McGuiness after they were assessed and recommended by an independent panel. Existing member, Mikaela Power, was also reappointed.

Mr Jennings said all three members brought a strong governance skillset to the CMA Board.

“It was my pleasure to welcome them to our board at their first meeting recently,” said Mr Jennings. “They bring different and impressive experiences to the board and organisation.”

Mr Jennings said Mr Murray’s business experience was a great fit for the board.

“Nick has had a lot of experience, as a CEO and a board director, as well as experience in HR, marketing and forestry.

“It was also pleasing to welcome back to the organisation, Liz Clay. Liz is a past director and community advisory group member and her knowledge of the region, passion for the environment and natural resource management makes her a natural fit.”

Ms Clay has worked in Gippsland for more than 30 years with a focus on natural resources and ecosystems. She has contributed to industry advisory committees including the Southern Rural Water Irrigator Advisory Committee.

Ms McGuiness brings more than 25 years’ experience in the land and water management sector to the CMA board.

“Shelley has held many roles in land and water management including research, extension and policy,” continued Mr Jennings.

“She’s a past director of Coliban Water and a Member of the Australia Institute of Company Directors.

“We look forward to the contribution that our new board members will bring during their terms.”

Mr Jennings also thanked outgoing board members Courtney Mraz, Warwick Wilson and Christine Holland.

“During their terms, Courtney, Warwick and Christine have proved to be strategic thinkers with an excellent understanding of the expectations of government.

“They have influenced and advocated for their community and environment with great passion.

“All three members will be missed, and I thank them for their contribution to both our CMA and their local communities.”


More information about board members, including their bios can be found on our Board information page.

WGCMA Board Members (l-r) Shelley McGuiness, Nick Murray, Jodie Mason, Peter Jennings OAM (Chair), Jane Hildebrant, Jane Oakely, Belinda Nave, Liz Clay and Mikaela Power.